Welcome back to another edition of Turnbuckle Talk. Today we have another awesome woman featured and her name is Ivory Robyn!

We talked to Ivory Robyn last year on Heel/Face Radio and if you missed it, you can click here to give it a listen. Ivory normally wrestles out of Booker T’s Reality Of Wrestling, however, she also competes in several other promotions as well. In this interview she reveals two things that not many people know about her, people she looks up to in the business and what she would be doing if she wasn’t wrestling. Find out all of this and more by reading the interview below!

H/F: At what age did you begin watching wrestling?Β 
IR: I began to watch professional wrestling at the age of 4. My family members have always been a fan of wrestling because they watched so it was definitely bound to catch my attention πŸ™‚ The Ultimate Warrior was the very first superstar to catch my attention and then I just absolutely fell in love with Sting after that! LOL!
H/F: When did you know that you wanted to become a wrestler?Β 
IR: Even though I grew up watching wrestling, it never crossed my mind to do it until a few years when I was having a conversation with my nephews who were talking about it and sat down and watched it with them and I was like who is this guy? Who is this girl? I sat down one day and was flipping through the channels and came across RAW and saw John Cena talking about a feud with the Rock and I kid you not the thought that came across my mind was ” I wonder if I can do that…. I bet I can do that!” Lol. Found a school near me and the rest is as they say history πŸ™‚
H/F: Where did you begin your training and who did you train with?Β 
IR: The very first place I trained at was called PACW (Pure Action Championship Wrestling) in Wichita Falls, Texas. My trainer’s name was Buckwild. He got me over my fear of leaving my feet. It was crazy! lol! After that promotion had to close because the owner was based in the military, I knew I wanted to continue doing this so I started searching for schools. The three I came across were OVW, 3D Academy and Booker T’s Reality of Wrestling. I wasn’t quite ready to leave Texas and through meeting Erik Lockhart and listening to his words about how the school is ran at ROW, I was sold!Β This was the first time I really had the opportunity to work other girls because I wrestled guys for the most part, which i LOOOOOOVED πŸ™‚

H/F: How long have you been in the business?Β 
IR: Including training, I have been in this business for over three years. It has been crazy ride! lol.


H/F: Who are some of your influences or people that you look up to in the business?Β 
IR: I look up to Lita, Chyna and Jacqueline for sure! Those women were heavy hitters and could hang with the men. I looked up to that so much. I of course looked up to Sting and Warrior because the just had the attention grabbing character! It is amazing that you don’t have to say a word and people go nuts! I also appreciate an awesome awesome worker by the name of Kacee Carlisle! She’s the one I can say that helped things click ! i can’t explain it but I appreciate it! I also look up to Erik Lockhart! That guy when he is putting together matches and dissecting the format you just have to sit back and listen and he’s so patient!
H/F: What is your entrance music? Any reason for picking this song?
IR: My theme song that I use is like a rock instrumental. I love 80’s rock and 80’s/90’s hip hop music. When I travel outside of Reality of wrestling, I use “lets go” by Trick Daddy/Twista/Ozzy Osbourne or “99 problems” by Jay-Z/Rick Reuben. I love coming out to music that gets me ready to fight πŸ™‚
H/F: What is the name of your finisher?Β 
IR: My main finisher I use is called ” THEE Black Diamond Cutter” because black Diamonds are used to cut other diamonds in half and it ends with a cutter. I got the idea from Mr. Marc Mero πŸ™‚ I have a submission hold as well lol.
H/F: What have you learned about yourself in your journey of becoming a wrestler?
IR: Since I’ve been in this business, I’ve learned that I am capable of doing things if I put my mind to it and not be scared of the unknown and things are less scary once you clear your mind and take a leap of faith.


H/F: What has been your favorite part of your career so far?Β 
IR: My favorite thing I have experienced so far is winning my very first championship and having my idol, WWE Hall of Famer Lita, present it to me in front of at least 1000 people! I was marking out so hard on the inside! lol! I spoke to her afterwards and got awesome advice! It was insane and I still get goosebumps thinking about it :-). I just love traveling and meeting cool humble people who root you on and help you out! It’s just freaking cool.
H/F: Who would your dream match be against?Β 
IR: My dream match would have to be against Lita or Jacqueline! Anytime! Any place! Those matches would be a lot of fun in my opinion. πŸ™‚
H/F: Other than the dream match opponent, is there anyone that you haven’t worked with that you would like to one day?Β 
IR: I would like to work Kacee Carlisle again, Ember Moon in a singles (we were in a triple threat), Mia Yim/Jade, Tessa Blanchard, LuFisto would give me a super hard hitting match… Just to name a few πŸ™‚
H/F: What are some of your goals for 2017?Β 
IR: Oh man I have some big goals for 2017, but the number one thing is just for me to continue to grow and get better and just be a force in this business with or without a championship around my waist. I would like to have a steel cage match or tables match and finally start to work men in singles again. Oh and work in other countries…. it’s close though πŸ™‚


H/F: Favorite cheat meal? Type of music? Type of movies?
IR: My cheat meal is pepperoni pizza mmmmmmm lol! I love all kinds of music, but predominately 80’s rock/80’s pop/80’s R&B. I like scary movies or anything that makes me laugh super hard. Action movies too every once in awhile.
H/F: What is something that not many people know about you?Β 
IR: Two things people don’t know about me are 1) I used to be a sports reporter. I love sports and grew up watching pretty much everything and I received a post grad internship at Fox Sports SouthWest. and 2) I used to sing! Yes I sang for 10 years and received scholarships for my music. I loooove music! All kinds!
H/F: Favorite place that you have wrestled so far?Β 
IR: I don’t have just one place that I love wrestling for. If the crowd is vocal whether they are cheering or booing, it’s a freaking win! lol. I love when the crowd is vocal and not sitting on their hands. I just want fans to go to a show and scream and enjoy the show because we as workers love that. Don’t come and sit on your hands and sit in silence like a mime lol πŸ™‚ SCREAM! LOL!
H/F: Bucket list of places you want to wrestle?Β 
IR: I’m hoping to work in any country outside of the U.S. soon… Few places have been on my radar and contacts have been made soooo fingers crossed πŸ™‚


H/F: What do you enjoy doing when you aren’t wrestling?
IR: I enjoy hanging out with my family and friends, working out, and listening to music outside of wrestling. I also get a major kick out decorating :-). I’m like Martha Stewart or something lol!
H/F: Finish this statement, if I wasn’t involved in wrestling, I would be doing…Β 
IR: If I wasn’t involved in wrestling, I would be in entertainment in some way shape or form. Whether it is acting or singing, that’s what I want to do. I would also like to have a masters degree in interior design :-).
H/F: Any words for your fans?Β 
IR: To the people that support me, I love you guys more than you will ever know and I thank you for following me on this journey. I hope I make you proud πŸ™‚ and never be afraid of your dreams and never let someone deter you from YOUR DREAMS! I don’t care who it is because Faith in yourself is the number one thing you need πŸ™‚
H/F: Any last words that you would like to add?Β 
IR: Hopefully the best is yet to come πŸ™‚ I’m just enjoying this new era in women’s wrestling!

Be sure to follow Ivory on twitter!